Deputy Prime Minister visits Hervey Bay to talk infrastructure projects

Sunday, 13 May 2018

Federal Member for Hinkler Keith Pitt is encouraging local councils to look at funding opportunities within the Budget for important road infrastructure projects.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Transport Michael McCormack today visited the site of the proposed extension of Urraween Road, in Hervey Bay.

“There are a range of measures announced in last week’s Budget including $3.5 billion to establish the Roads of Strategic Importance initiative, which will upgrade key freight corridors in regional Australia and increase productivity by connecting our major agricultural and resource areas with our cities and ports,” Mr Pitt said.

“Upgrades to these roads will increase safety and provide broader benefits to regional Australia by supporting the tourism industry.

“The Roads to Recovery Program will also be maintained with $4.8 billion from 2013-14 to 2021-22 for the construction, repair and upgrade of local roads.

“The Coalition Government is also continuing to fund the successful Black Spot Program which delivers safety improvements on dangerous roads which have a crash history.

“I have discussed the Urraween Road extension with the Deputy Prime Minister as an important project to improve connectivity on the Fraser Coast,” Mr Pitt said.

Mr McCormack said there was a strong focus on Queensland in the 2018-19 Budget.

“Queensland is set to benefit from the Liberal and Nationals Government’s significant infrastructure investment with an additional $5.2 billion delivered in the 2018-19 Budget, bringing the total infrastructure investment in the State to $15.5 billion from 2013-14 to 2021-22,” he said.

“The $800 million commitment to the Section D Cooroy to Curra upgrade will not only make a marked difference to the safety of the Bruce Highway for local residents travelling, it will improve transportation for businesses trying to get their goods to market.”

#thegov_button_6657bcacabcf8 { color: rgba(255,255,255,1); }#thegov_button_6657bcacabcf8:hover { color: rgba(255,255,255,1); }#thegov_button_6657bcacabcf8 { border-color: transparent; background-color: rgba(0,82,148,1); }#thegov_button_6657bcacabcf8:hover { border-color: transparent; background-color: rgba(255,194,14,1); }