Monday, 28 March 2022

Powering community groups in Hinkler

Nine community groups across Hinkler have received a share of more than $65,000 from the Coalition Government to help increase energy efficiency and reduce their power bills. 

Federal Member for Hinkler Keith Pitt today congratulated the successful local not-for-profit groups which received a grant from the Powering Communities Program. 

“Energy bills are often one of the biggest overheads for community organisations, and these grants have been a welcome boost,” Mr Pitt said. 

These groups and organisations play an important role in our community. The more they can save on running costs, the better they can focus on meeting the needs of our local community. 

“Whether it’s Bundaberg Meals on Wheels providing a crucial service to many of our senior residents or the Hervey Bay AFL and Cricket Club fostering a love of sport and physical activity, these groups can achieve more with lower power bills. 

The Powering Communities Program provided funding of between $5,000 and $12,000 to install solar panels, replace lighting with LEDs, upgrade air conditioners or more energy efficient equipment like fridges and freezers. 

Congratulations to the following successful organisations: 

Bundaberg and District Meals on Wheels 

Replace fluorescent lights with LED lights 


Bundaberg Basketball 

Install solar panels 


Bundaberg Players 

Upgrade existing lighting system 


Defence Veterans Drop-In Centre 

Upgrade current solar system 


Woodgate & District Residents Association 

Replace commercial refrigerators 


QCWA Childers 

Install solar panels 


Buxton Friendship Association 

Install solar panels 


Hervey Bay AFL & Cricket Club 

Install solar panels 


Pialba Bowls Club 

Install LED lighting 



Applications for grants under the program opened in March 2021. Each Federal MP, with the assistance of a committee representing the local community, nominated projects and invited groups to apply for the grant funding.  

Connect With Keith

#thegov_button_6657c6b272269 { color: rgba(255,255,255,1); }#thegov_button_6657c6b272269:hover { color: rgba(255,255,255,1); }#thegov_button_6657c6b272269 { border-color: transparent; background-color: rgba(0,82,148,1); }#thegov_button_6657c6b272269:hover { border-color: transparent; background-color: rgba(255,194,14,1); }