Help for local sporting champions

Tuesday, 18 July 2017

The Federal Government is continuing to help young Hinkler sports people compete at state, national and international competitions with the Local Sporting Champions grants.

Federal Member for Hinkler Keith Pitt is today congratulating the 20 successful recipients of Round 1 2017-18, who have been awarded a $500 grant.

“There’s no doubt that it can be expensive for young people and their families to compete at this level.

“In this round we have competitors travelling to the Netherlands, the United States, Switzerland and France, as well as around Australia.

“The Local Sporting Champions grants help ease the financial burden of travelling to and from these sporting competitions for the families of our young sporting stars,” Mr Pitt said.

The grant can be put toward the cost of travel, accommodation, uniforms or equipment to participate at the nominated championships.

The Local Sporting Champions program is aimed at the 12 to 18 age group as research shows this group is where the largest dropout rates occur.

“The program will hopefully lead to lower dropout rates, by providing financial assistance to these sportspeople,” Mr Pitt said.

“I’d also like to take the opportunity to wish the competitors good luck and I’m sure they will do the Hinkler electorate proud.”

Applications for Round Two for 2017-18 are now open and close on 31 October 2017.

For more information head to:

Round 1, 2017-18 Local Sporting Champions recipients:

Garrett Moore – 2017 U15 Boys & Girls Australian Hockey Championships

Gracie Finn – Queensland Schools Football Championship

Anjee Taranto – 13th World Nations Championships Dragon Boat Racing

Lachlan Santana – 2017 QLD U15 State School Championships

Jandre Van Niekerk – Australian Gymnastics Championships

Jordan Smith – Pacific School Games

Khobie Redgard – National Basketball Championships

Charlles Liebenberg – 2017 International Triathlon Union Age Group World Triathlon Championships

Jack Davies – 2017 UCI BMX World Championship

Joseph Ryan – Australian Gymnastics Championships

Kerr Fleming – State Basketball Championships

Leah Scott – 2017 Australian Junior Table Tennis Championships

Madison Masterman-Smith – Pacific School Games

Markus Kime – 12yrs and Under State Rugby League Championship

Murphy Hunt-Sheaff – FFA National Youth Championships

Natasha Jefferson – National Table Tennis Championships

Nathan Donaldson – World Para Athlete Junior Championships

Philip Moller – School Sport Australian Football Championships

Sienna Davies – 2017 UCI BMX World Championships

Tayla Scott – Australian Junior Table Tennis Championships 2017

#thegov_button_66a151a9193e1 { color: rgba(255,255,255,1); }#thegov_button_66a151a9193e1:hover { color: rgba(255,255,255,1); }#thegov_button_66a151a9193e1 { border-color: transparent; background-color: rgba(0,82,148,1); }#thegov_button_66a151a9193e1:hover { border-color: transparent; background-color: rgba(255,194,14,1); }