Funding help for local sporting champions

Wednesday, 28 March 2018


Young athletes in the Hinkler region have received a funding boost to help them compete at state, national and international competitions.

Federal Member for Hinkler Keith Pitt is today congratulating the 12 successful Local Sporting Champions recipients of Round 3 2017-18, who have each been awarded a $500 grant.

“While it’s great that so many young people in the Hinkler electorate have the opportunity to compete at this level, it can be expensive to get them there. I hope that the Local Sporting Champions grant makes it a little easier on these families,” he said.

The grant can be put toward the cost of travel, accommodation, uniforms or equipment to participate at the nominated championships.

“In this round we have a competitor travelling to French Polynesia and others competing around Australia.”

“I wish all of the competitors’ good luck in their respective competitions – I’m sure they will do well,” he said.

Applications for Round One for 2018-19 are open now and close on 30 June 2018.

For more information and to enter:

Round 3, 2017-18 Local Sporting Champions recipients:

Jan Kirchner                       Queensland Junior Cricket 2017 State Championships

William Thorogood          U15 Boys Regional Softball Championships

William Stupart                 QLD Secondary School Squash Championships

Milee Flanders                  Queensland Southern Regional U15 girls Futsal

Drew Boylan                      Queensland Southern Regional U15 Boys Futsal

James Stromquist            National Futsal Championships 2018

Joshua Mason                   Queensland Southern Regional U15 Boys Futsal

Hayden Moynihan           National Futsal Championships 2018

Kaleb Coyne                       Australian Junior Nationals (Ten-pin bowling)

Tibah O’Brien                     Australian Basketball Nationals

Liliana McLennan             2018 Australian Junior Track Cycling Championships

Amber Forbes                   IVF Va’a World Sprint Championship (outrigger canoeing)

#thegov_button_664b65b0ecce8 { color: rgba(255,255,255,1); }#thegov_button_664b65b0ecce8:hover { color: rgba(255,255,255,1); }#thegov_button_664b65b0ecce8 { border-color: transparent; background-color: rgba(0,82,148,1); }#thegov_button_664b65b0ecce8:hover { border-color: transparent; background-color: rgba(255,194,14,1); }