Middle school officially opened at St Luke’s Anglican School

Thursday, 10 March 2016

Federal Member for Hinkler and Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Keith Pitt today attended the opening of the Middle School Building at St Luke’s Anglican School in Bundaberg.

Students and staff at St Luke’s Anglican School now have full use of their new classrooms, multipurpose areas, kitchen, amenities, staff room, office, outdoor learning areas and store rooms. The Australian Government provided $500,000 in funding from the Capital Grants Programme.

Mr Pitt attended the opening on behalf of Senator the Hon Simon Birmingham, Minister for Education and Training.

“I was pleased to visit St Luke’s Anglican School and see firsthand the new facilities,” Mr Pitt said.

“Students and the whole school community will benefit from using the new facilities.

“These new learning spaces take into account the latest in education research and will see students learn more effectively,” Mr Pitt said.

The Australian Government is providing higher levels of school funding than ever before—a record $69.4 billion in total Commonwealth funding over the forward estimates in all states and territories. This represents an increase in funding of 27.3 per cent from 2014–15.

As well as delivering increased funding, the Australian Government is focusing on quality and choice for schools.

“While buildings alone do not make a great school, I hope students and staff will enjoy learning and be inspired by these new facilities,” Minister Birmingham said.

“The Australian Government is committed to improving the quality of our schools and equipping students with the skills they need to succeed in an increasingly competitive world,” Minister Birmingham said.

Minister Birmingham is responsible for the Capital Grants Programme, which provides funding for non-government schools to improve capital infrastructure where they otherwise may not have access to sufficient capital resources. 


#thegov_button_6657c4c6c2f10 { color: rgba(255,255,255,1); }#thegov_button_6657c4c6c2f10:hover { color: rgba(255,255,255,1); }#thegov_button_6657c4c6c2f10 { border-color: transparent; background-color: rgba(0,82,148,1); }#thegov_button_6657c4c6c2f10:hover { border-color: transparent; background-color: rgba(255,194,14,1); }