Local sporting champions doing the Hinkler electorate proud

Sunday, 9 April 2017

Competing at a national or state level can be expensive for young people and their families, and that’s where the Local Sporting Champions grants can help.

Federal Member for Hinkler Keith Pitt is today congratulating 23 young sporting champions from across the electorate who have been awarded a $500 grant.

“The Local Sporting Champions grants help ease the financial burden of travelling to and from state, national and international sporting competitions for the families of our young sporting stars,” Mr Pitt said.

The grant can be put toward the cost of travel, accommodation, uniforms or equipment to participate at the nominated championships.

Mr Pitt said the Local Sporting Champions program is aimed at the 12 to 18 age group as research shows this group is where the largest dropout rates occur.

“The program will hopefully lead to lower dropout rates, by providing financial assistance to these sportspeople.

“As well as keeping them fit and healthy, competing in a sport helps build self-confidence and teaches our young people the importance of team work. That’s why we’re helping to make it easier for young people to continue to participate in sport.”

Applications for Round One for 2017-18 are now open and close on June 30, 2017 and Mr Pitt encourages all young Hinkler sportspeople to apply.

For more information: www.ausport.gov.au/participating/local_sporting_champions

Round 3, 2016-17 Local Sporting Champions recipients:

Zoran Fitzek – Little Athletics State Championships

Jayden Douma – National Hockey Championships Under 15 Boys

Andie Staples – Australian U13 National Indoor Hockey Championships

Col Curry – 2017 Australian Youth Triathlon Championships

Keira Stephens – 2017 Hancock Prospecting Australian Championships (Swimming)

Savannah Ritter – Under 15 National Softball Titles

Nicholas Jefferson – Para Championships (Table Tennis)

Leah Scott – Australian Junior Table Tennis Championships

Brett Fourro – 2016 Australian National Junior Table Tennis Championships

Briahna Connolly – Australian Juniors Table Tennis Championships

Ethan Weder – 2017 Sydney International Rowing Regatta

James Stromquist – Football Queensland

Johannes Kirchner – Queensland Hockey State Championships Boys Under 13

Leyton Ey – Australian Junior Table Tennis Championships

Nathan Donaldson – All School Championships

Rebecca Tran – Australian Junior Table Tennis Championships

Bryce Hibberd – Futsal National Championships

Ethan Jones – State Championships (Athletics)

Hayden Moynihan – National Futsal Championships

Mitchell Anderson – National Touch League

Nicholas Chatfield – National Futsal Championship

Patrick Stromquist – Football Queensland

Tyrese Johnson – State Championships (Athletics)

#thegov_button_6654a059df2a3 { color: rgba(255,255,255,1); }#thegov_button_6654a059df2a3:hover { color: rgba(255,255,255,1); }#thegov_button_6654a059df2a3 { border-color: transparent; background-color: rgba(0,82,148,1); }#thegov_button_6654a059df2a3:hover { border-color: transparent; background-color: rgba(255,194,14,1); }